Droid 2 Signal Issues?

Posted: August 16, 2010 in Droid 2
Tags:

“Can you hear me now?”

The famous words spoken over and over again by a man in the Verizon Wireless commercials is now being put to the test according to a TechCrunch report today.

They’re saying a number of reports are coming in that early Droid 2 adopters are experiencing fluctuating signal strength, bouncing in and out of 3g and 1x modes, and dropping calls when they have full service seconds prior.  Yes, dropping calls on a Verizon network device.  I know this is sounding eerily familiar to a certain antennagate issue that happened a month ago, however this differs in that users don’t have to hold their phone’s “the wrong way” for it to be affected.

This is occurring while phones are sitting on tables, by themselves, not being touched by anyone.

I’m wondering if this isn’t more a software issue with Motorola as I primarily use a Droid X running the same MotoBlur skin, and I had to return my first one because I couldn’t make a call period.  The second I would hit the send button my signal would be non existent and I couldn’t make a call at all.  If it is a Motorola software glitch, that would be easier for the company to handle I would assume than a major hardware malfunction.

Hopefully we’ll get a response from Motorola soon.

Source: TechCrunch

Leave a Reply

